tags: , , , , Blog

Tell These 20 House Democrats to Sign Onto House Immigration Bill HR 15!

Share This:

It’s been two weeks since members of the House introduced HR 15, an immigration bill in the lower chamber that contains a path to citizenship.  As we’ve pointed out many times before, there exist enough votes in the House right now to pass immigration reform, since it is estimated that at least 200 Democrats will join with at least 26 Republicans to support such legislation.  But every co-sponsor we add to HR 15 is another reminder to Speaker Boehner of that fact.

Despite the government shutdown and fiscal negotiations, A LOT of headway has been made on HR 15, with 183 Democrats as of this writing co-sponsoring the bill.  Twenty House Democrats, however, remain as holdouts.  Some of them—John Barrow of Georgia, Mike McIntyre of North Carolina, and Nick Rahall of West Virginia—voted with Steve King on his June amendment to deport DREAMers, and thus have a dubious track record on immigration.  Others, like Filemon Vela of Texas and Raul Grijalva of Arizona deserve thanks for introducing a separate House immigration bill (CIR ASAP)–but we still need their help on HR 15, so that leadership can bring immigration up for a vote.

Help us pressure these House Dems to get onboard and co-sponsor the bill at www.americasvoiceonline.org/supportHR15, or tweet/call the individual members below:

(And, yes, we are working with our allies to push Republican House members to cosponsor the bill, too. There’s no excuse.)

House Democrat Twitter Handle Office Phone Number
John Barrow (GA) @repjohnbarrow 202-225-2823
Cheri Bustos (IL) @RepCheri 202-225-5905
Mike Capuano (MA) @mikecapuano 202-225-5111
Yvette Clarke (NY) @YvetteClarke 202-225-6231
Jim Cooper (TN) @repjimcooper 202-225-4311
Bill Enyart (IL) @RepBillEnyart 202-225-5661
Raul Grijalva (AZ) @RepRaulGrijalva 202-225-2435
Rush Holt (NJ) @RushHolt 202-225-5801
Hakeem Jeffries (NY) @RepJeffries 202-225-5936
Dan Lipinski (IL) @RepLipinski 202-225-5701
Jim Matheson (UT) @RepJimMatheson 202-225-3011
Mike McIntyre (NC) @RepMikeMcIntyre 202-225-2731
Donald Payne, Jr (NJ) @RepDonaldPayne 202-225-3436
Gary Peters (MI) @RepGaryPeters 202-225-5802
Colin Peterson (MN) 202-225-2165
Nick Rahall (WV) 202-225-3452
Cedric Richmond (LA) @RepRichmond 202-225-6636
John Tierney (MA) @RepTierney 202-225-8020
Filemon Vela (TX) @RepFilemonVela 202-225-9901
Pete Visclosky (IN) @RepVisclosky 202-225-2461