tags: , , , , , Press Releases

ICYMI: Nearly Two Dozen Higher Education Institutions in Ohio Call on Congress to Pass Dreamer Legislation

Share This:

774 Institutions Across USA Ask House and Senate to Keep Our Doors Open to Dreamers “Who Seek to Contribute their Best to America”

Cleveland, OH – Twenty-two Ohio colleges and universities have joined nearly 800 others across the United States to ask Congress to “pass a long-term legislative fix as soon as possible to protect Dreamers, outstanding young people brought to our country as children.”

In the letter to House Speaker Ryan, House Democratic Leader Pelosi, Senate Republican Leader McConnell and Senate Democratic Leader Schumer, the institutions write:

There is widespread support among your constituents and across the country on the need to protect these individuals. A Sept. 24-26 Fox News poll found that 62 percent of Americans say it is extremely or very important for Congress to pass legislation to address the Dreamers. A Sept. 18-21 Washington Post-ABC News poll found that more than two-thirds of adults—69 percent—support allowing these individuals to stay in the United States if they had arrived as a child, had completed high school or served in the military and had not committed a serious crime.

Colleges and universities have seen these remarkable people up close, in our classrooms and as our colleagues and friends. Despite the challenges they face, they have made incredible contributions to our country and its economy and security. They should continue to be able to do so. If we are unable to protect these Dreamers, we will be shutting the door to an entire generation of individuals who seek to contribute their best to America.

The effort was coordinated by the American Council on Education (ACE), as part of the Protect Dreamers Higher Education Coalition.

Ohio institutions endorsing the letter include: Case Western Reserve University; Cleveland Institute of Art; Cleveland State University; Denison University; Hiram College; John Carroll University; Kenyon College; Marietta College; Miami University; Oberlin College; Ohio University; Ohio Wesleyan University; Otterbein University; The College of Wooster; The Ohio State University; The University of Toledo; University of Cincinnati; University of Dayton; University of Findlay; University of Toledo; Wright State University; and Xavier University.